Saturday, August 24, 2019
Text Size

Masters Divisions Announced for the Australian National Championships 2019

Age based categories have been used in major sporting events for many years. The Masters Games may be the best known while many large sailing classes have used them for decades.

For 2019, the Australian Radio Yachting Association (ARYA) has accepted a proposal from the Queensland Radio Yachting Association (QRYA) to trial age based categories in the Australian Championships being held in Queensland in February next.

The categories are defined as follows;


Age Range


All entrants


 < 25


65 - 74

Grand Masters



Please Note:

  • All Racing will be in Open Division. The normal fleet system will be used and the division placings are back-calculated from the Heat Management System (HMS) results.
  • Age will be taken from 4 February 2019.
  • It will be possible for a sailor to win in Open and one of the other categories they are qualified for.

All entrants are in Open Division but on Registration each competitor will be given the option to nominate for one of the age based divisions. Trophies will be awarded at the discretion of the Organising Committee.

Winners will be recognised as “Australian National Champion” of a division.



Login Form