Tuesday, December 01, 2020
Text Size

DF95 North Queensland Championship to Jochein


11 October 2020

Townsville Radio Control Yachting Inc. hosted the 2020 championships which drew visitors from Whitsunday, Mackay and Moreton Clubs, totalling 11 enthusiasts.

We were greeted by a glorious spring day with fairly consistent light wind. Race Officer and Townsville President Ray Part addressed the fleet on the processes and spirit of the regatta. Sailing got underway at 10.15 am and unfolded some exciting racing. It promised to be an interesting day with the first three places in the first three races being shared by 5 different sailors. As the morning progressed the usual unplanned gear failure caused a few minor delays but great comradery saw problems shared and addressed so that the fleet stayed in together.

After eight heats Jamie Jochhein was stamping his superior skill on the regatta with five wins and three minor placings. Moreton sailor David Brunsdon had a satisfying win and Whitsunday’s Shane Beyer and Mackay’s Rob Black were building momentum behind Jamie. Townsville junior sailor Nick Dunne showed his potential with a second placing along with is dad Col.

As lunchtime approached Mackay’s Dean Anderson presented 813 into two third placings and Whitsunday’s Clay Bauman and Peter Millar challenged with a second and fourth and a second and third respectively. Townsville’s Leon Thomas put on notice his ability with a win in heat 9 and Whitsunday’s Chris Head gained a third placing in an early heat.

After lunch, rescue boat operator Bob Neunhoffer had a busy afternoon as wind strength and competition increased. Observers lead by John Collins and ably assisted by new Townsville Club juniors Madison and Paxton Campbell did an excellent job in the recording of some tight finishes.

Jamie continued to humbly assert his superior sailing skills while Shane, Rob and Col kept up some pressure with prominent placings during the afternoon.

Eighteen heats were sailed with three boats retiring over the last three heats. Winner of the regatta was sportsmanship and co-operation. Thank you to all participants.

The perpetual Tri Series between Mackay, Whitsundays and Townsville based on the efforts of the best two sailors from each centre was awarded to Whitsunday.

Regatta placings: First: Jamie Jochhein (Whitsunday)

Second: Shane Beyer (Whitsunday)

Third: Rob Black (Mackay)

Best Junior Sailor: Nick Dunne (Townsville)

Notes: Ian Matheson

Sec/Treasurer TRCY INC


Login Form