Thursday, February 21, 2019
Text Size

A Class Nationals

There's just a little over two days until the commencement of the 2019 ARYA Australian Championships and kicking off will be the A class.

Last years champion, Graeme Howie from Western Australia, has been unable to make it leaving the door wide open for NSW's Brian Dill who will go into the event as favourite with his Sword design.

It's not expected to be a 'walk in the park' for Brian. Looking at the fleet this will be a closely fought championship with a number of sailors capable of claiming the trophy.

The weather for the two day event sees a forecast to be identical for both days of sailing with the temperature floating around 30C and winds ESE around 10-15 knots. Ahhh Queensland - beautiful one day, perfect the next!

Racing commences at 10.15am on Monday 4th February and concludes on the afternoon of Tuesday 5th at Regatta Waters Lake, Oxenford, Gold Coast.

Here's our fleet

1. DILL, Brian (NSW)
2. ELLIS, Simon (WA)
4. MCLAREN, Bruce (QLD)
5. MORRIS, Peter (QLD)
6. NORRIE, Warren (NSW)
7. PAUL, Roger (WA)
8. ROBERTS, Denton (WA)
9. RUSSELL, Frank (QLD)
10. TAYLOR, Garry (QLD)



ARYA National Championships Preview: Radio Sailing bigger than ever!











 The biggest event on the Australian radio sailing calendar commences in less than a week and sees over 120 entries from across Australia, New Zealand, Japan,USA and Scotland. The Australian Radio Yachting Association (ARYA) National Championships for four classes of radio yacht are being held on the Gold Coast at Regatta Waters Lake from the 4th 16th February 2019 to determine Australia's best.

The International One Metre Class (IOM), which boasts the biggest fleet of over 70 boats, will no doubt be a close fought battle with current Australian Champion, Paul Jones, looking to defend his title which he claimed in a final race decider in Hobart last year. Jones has proven he is the one to beat claiming victory in all but one of the regional championships he competed in over the last twelve months, with his only flaw, faltering at the Queensland State Championship which saw WA's Sean Wallis take out a victory on the very same waters this event will be held. Wallis will be seeking a repeat of his performance at this event to claim his first Australian title.

This one won't be a two horse race, South Australia's Scott Mitchell is a past championship winner and will look to get another victory under his belt along with another West Australian, Ross Bennett, who has been runner-up a number of times and will seek to ditch the "brides-maids" dress.

Another close fought battle will be in the Marblehead Class where Scott Condie (NSW) will be hoping to retain his crown. Sailing the UK built "Grunge" design, a boat designed by Australian Brad Gibson, Condie may not have it all his way with Victorian's Kirwan Robb and Andy Reid, also sailing the Grunge, expected to ensure that this championship goes down to the wire, although even this trio may find other challengers in the mix.

Read the rest at Sail-World



National Championships Closing Date Extended

Image result for Countdown











By request, the ARYA has extended the Closing Date for the 2019 Championships to midnight 23rd January

2019.  The website is now open for late entries.

No further extension will be made.



Yachtsmen Gather for Gold Coast Australian Championships

The 2019 Australian Championships for Radio Controlled yachts are being held 4th -16th February at Regatta Lake, Oxenford. One hundred and eighteen sailors are currently entered in 4 classes of yacht.

A team of volunteers from local clubs and the Queensland Radio Yachting Association (QRYA) has been planning this event for more than 12 months, with the support of the Southport Yacht Club and the City of Gold Coast. In an interview this week Event Manager Ron Fawcett said "Competitors will start arriving in the first few days of February from locations as distant as Japan, the United States of America and New Zealand. A strong contingent from Perth will be traveling further than the New Zealanders!"

\images\nats_1The event will be based from the Southport Yacht Club Watersports Centre that was opened just last year. State level radio sailing events have been held on two occasions leading up to this national event so the local organisers and sailors could gain experience at this exciting venue. The expansive lake offers fair courses to be set in any wind direction.

Radio sailing is a growing sport in Queensland and indeed across the world. Competition uses the same rules of sailing that larger classes do up to Olympic level. Some of the competitors are experienced sailors who have competed at the highest level, while others have entered the sport for the first time. One of the attractions for both new and experienced sailors is the number of races that can be held in one day. The excitement of the starting sequence and the chess-like tactics in reading the conditions are all the same in radio sailing, but more events can be had in a shorter timeframe.

\images\nats_2Recently a number of newer one-design low cost classes have entered the market and numbers have been growing quickly. One-design is about every sailor having the same affordable equipment, available off the shelf. If the trend in North America repeats itself here we can expect numbers to continue to grow in Queensland and across Australia.

As Col Cameron, President of the Queensland Radio Yachting Association (QRYA) said recently "If you have always wanted to go sailing but did not have the time or resources, or if you are an experienced sailor and want to continue to use your experience, then this sport is for you. But be careful, it's very addictive. As important is the social network that is a major part of this sport."

If you want a great day out in the first half of February, Regatta Waters Lake is in the middle of Damian Leeding Memorial Park at Oxenford. The regatta site will be open to the spectating public on all racing days and a cafe is open every day for a relaxing coffee and a snack while you watch the racing. So make an entry in your calendar to watch some exciting radio controlled racing. Details can be found at You can find a club near you on this website.





Boat Crew Wanted for the Nationals










 The 2019 ARYA National Championships are approaching rapidly and we have a few vacancies on our list of personnel for the event.  We are particularly asking for boat crew. 

We plan to rotate boat crew frequently, maximum of half day stints.  To do this we need more people to put their hands up.  If you can spend even a few hours to help out, please complete the Volunteer Registration form below and we will work to your needs.

If you are either competing in one class and are available as a volunteer for another class, or are not sailing but intended to drop by for a look on one or more days, please register your interest.  We are over allocating the staff list with reserves in case we need them.

This is a great opportunity to give something back to the sport we all enjoy!

Click here for the Volunteer Registration Form

Only takes a minute.  Looking forward to seeing you at the event.



Login Form