Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Text Size

S/QLD IOM Class Championship Pics

20190323 105841 2000x596

Photos by Nick Lindsley

A Class South Queensland Championship


Lake Samsonvale

What a change in wind conditions, where PRRYC Members had become accustomed to sailing with “C” Rigs during Club Events, there was hardly a puff on wind on the lake.

A course was eventually set for a breeze from ESE.

Starting late, the OOD (John Fulton) then decided to call an early lunch after 3 races hoping that the breeze will come in. Again because of the lack of wind, we did not finish the third race for some time and therefore lunch was not that much earlier than previously stated.

After lunch we had a little more puff. It all made for interesting sailing and the score depicts just how close.

It was good to see seven yachts entered in the event.

Congratulations to Garry Taylor who took out the first place followed by Jason Nasmith and Laurie Hinchcliffe.

Bob Worton




2019 IOM Grand Prix Series

The QRYA has announced the creation of a new IOM Grand Prix (GP) Series Championship title.  

The Association has responded to calls for;

  1. a championship crown won from multiple events
  2. a title for Queensland sailors only
  3. an incentive to compete in ranking events

All Queensland events will continue to be open to interstate sailors, no changes there.  Trophies will continue to be awarded for each event, however the results of interstate competitors will not be included in the GP Series calculations.

GP Series State Championship rules;

  1. All QRYA affiliated skippers entering ranking events are automatically entered in the GP Series
  2. The results of the best three (3) of four (4) ranking events will be used to calculate the winner(s)
  3. A minimum of three (3) events must be sailed to be eligible
  4. Trophies in Open and Masters categories will be presented

The 2019 IOM GP Series is comprised of;

  1. South Queensland Championships at Kawana 23/24 March  
  2. Central Queensland Championship 25/26 May
  3. Eddie Cowell Perpetual 2/3/4 August
  4. State Championship 26/27 October 2019

So review your plans and be the first to win this new Championship title.  Trophies for the winners (Open and Masters) and three placegetters will be awarded at the end of the State Championship event in October.



Dragon Flite 95’s are Booming

The 3rd of March at Moreton Radio Yacht Squadron, Newport QLD was not even a competition day, but still there were 10 DF95’s on the start line.  The 95’s have been growing at Newport for 2 years with the persistence of Garry Russell who was convinced from way back that there was a place for a low cost one-design yacht in the radio controlled racing community.  The QRYA through President Col Cameron led a successful promotional event in Townsville in late 2018 and there is strong interest from sailors in Cairns to start a club based on the DF95’s.

A recent QRYA Class Survey confirmed that DF95’s are now sailing at 6 clubs across Queensland with 3 of those regularly sailing with fleet sizes of 6 or more. 

Looking at this coming year the class is expected to grow quickly following the elevation to State Sanctioned level in Queensland and the QRYA support that brings.  The first major event this year is the Newport Invitation 5th May followed by the State Championships in North Queensland 5th October which will determine the inaugural QLD State Champion.  A third event is being organised to create a three event Grand Prix series from which a GP Series winner will be decided.

Clubs currently sailing 95's are;


Contact details can be found here

Videos of the Newport races can be found here.  Please subscribe to the channel, it helps promote radio sailing.

So for those of you who have been watching this class for a while now, it’s time.  Get one and start practicing.



ARYA Welcomes DF65 as Nationally Recognised Class


At the recent Australian Radio Yachting Association AGM held on the Gold Coast the DF65 Class was formally recognised as a Nationally Recognised Class (NRC).

The DragonForce 65 (DF65) is one of the fastest growing radio controlled yacht classes world wide and it's no surprise why these boats have established a presence in Australia. 

First released in February 2013, an affordable competition class RC yacht that is so affordable it can enjoyed by serious competitors and non serious hobbyists alike. The boat has an ABS hull, profiled aluminium fin and molded plastic rudder. The rig is a full sized, low aspect rig with carbon spars and a ball raced gooseneck.

Already clubs around Australia have adopted the class with regular racing both mid-week and weekends.

The ARYA with the support of the Australian DF65 Association are working closely with the coordination of events including the DF65 Australian Championship scheduled for early 2020 and will seize the opportunity see further growth in the class and the sport of radio sailing.

For further information visit the Australian DF65 Association website 



Login Form