Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Text Size

Australian A Class Championships completed

The 2019 A Class Australian Champion is Brian Dill.  Brian just continued to extend the lead he established on the first day, to finish on 55 points, with Roger Paul on 81 in second place.  Warren Norrie was always at the pointy end finishing just a few points behind Roger on 90 points.

The inaugural Australian Champion in the Masters Division is Denton Roberts who won three heats and looked a real contender to bag a multi-division win.

Left to right: Warren Norrie 3rd;  Brian Dill 1st;  Roger Paul 2nd; Denton Roberts Masters Champion.

Conditions were almost identical for both days with well defined shifts there for the taking for the keen skippers.  Late on day two the larger rigs had a few craft dipping the front half in the lake.

The excitement continues tomorrow with Day 1 of the 10 Raters.



A Class Nationals underway

Easterly breezes were forecast for the rest of the week at the Regatta Lake on the Gold Coast, and that was exactly what happened.  The A Class National Championships started in what could only be described as near perfect sailing conditions.  Yes there were the usual shifts but it was the better sailors who picked them early and made the top mark at the head of the fleet.

By the lunch break there were four boats on 22 points showing how close the racing was.  However Brian Dill from NSW had a narrow lead of just two points from Roger Paul from WA and Warren Norrie from NSW.

One of the Queensland contenders and well known sail-maker Garry Taylor, has rig issues early on, nothing serious, just a split mast.  After missing some action with reduced rig tension he bounced back with a win using some spectra twine and some super-glue.

By days end the PRO Lindsay Walker had started 20 races and the hold that Brian Dill had on first place had strengthened.  The distance to second place Roger Paul had increased to 9 points with Warren Norrie just 4 points back in third.

The racing concludes tomorrow in what should be identical conditions.



A Class Nationals

There's just a little over two days until the commencement of the 2019 ARYA Australian Championships and kicking off will be the A class.

Last years champion, Graeme Howie from Western Australia, has been unable to make it leaving the door wide open for NSW's Brian Dill who will go into the event as favourite with his Sword design.

It's not expected to be a 'walk in the park' for Brian. Looking at the fleet this will be a closely fought championship with a number of sailors capable of claiming the trophy.

The weather for the two day event sees a forecast to be identical for both days of sailing with the temperature floating around 30C and winds ESE around 10-15 knots. Ahhh Queensland - beautiful one day, perfect the next!

Racing commences at 10.15am on Monday 4th February and concludes on the afternoon of Tuesday 5th at Regatta Waters Lake, Oxenford, Gold Coast.

Here's our fleet

1. DILL, Brian (NSW)
2. ELLIS, Simon (WA)
4. MCLAREN, Bruce (QLD)
5. MORRIS, Peter (QLD)
6. NORRIE, Warren (NSW)
7. PAUL, Roger (WA)
8. ROBERTS, Denton (WA)
9. RUSSELL, Frank (QLD)
10. TAYLOR, Garry (QLD)



ARYA National Championships Preview: Radio Sailing bigger than ever!











 The biggest event on the Australian radio sailing calendar commences in less than a week and sees over 120 entries from across Australia, New Zealand, Japan,USA and Scotland. The Australian Radio Yachting Association (ARYA) National Championships for four classes of radio yacht are being held on the Gold Coast at Regatta Waters Lake from the 4th 16th February 2019 to determine Australia's best.

The International One Metre Class (IOM), which boasts the biggest fleet of over 70 boats, will no doubt be a close fought battle with current Australian Champion, Paul Jones, looking to defend his title which he claimed in a final race decider in Hobart last year. Jones has proven he is the one to beat claiming victory in all but one of the regional championships he competed in over the last twelve months, with his only flaw, faltering at the Queensland State Championship which saw WA's Sean Wallis take out a victory on the very same waters this event will be held. Wallis will be seeking a repeat of his performance at this event to claim his first Australian title.

This one won't be a two horse race, South Australia's Scott Mitchell is a past championship winner and will look to get another victory under his belt along with another West Australian, Ross Bennett, who has been runner-up a number of times and will seek to ditch the "brides-maids" dress.

Another close fought battle will be in the Marblehead Class where Scott Condie (NSW) will be hoping to retain his crown. Sailing the UK built "Grunge" design, a boat designed by Australian Brad Gibson, Condie may not have it all his way with Victorian's Kirwan Robb and Andy Reid, also sailing the Grunge, expected to ensure that this championship goes down to the wire, although even this trio may find other challengers in the mix.

Read the rest at Sail-World



National Championships Closing Date Extended

Image result for Countdown











By request, the ARYA has extended the Closing Date for the 2019 Championships to midnight 23rd January

2019.  The website is now open for late entries.

No further extension will be made.



Login Form