Friday, October 22, 2021
Text Size

Robb Successfully Defends Australian Ten Rater Title

10RnatsPresentations2Feb 18, 2020

Victoria's Kirwan Robb has successfully defended his title of Australian Ten Rater Class champion by winning the 2020 championship at Yarrawonga, VIC.

Lack of wind saw only two races sailed on day two of the championship both of which were won by Scott Condie (NSW) which was enough to reduce the Robb (pictured left) lead to just two points going into the final day. With an earlier start to racing on the final day winds remained light around 2-5 knots from ENE. WA's Glenn Dawson got off to a good start in race 11 with Condie close behind and Robb a further few places behind and it looked as though the championship lead was due for another change. 

Dawson continually extended his lead while Condie  battled with weed he had to endure Pictured (L-R): Owen Jarvis (Master), David Thomas (Grand Master),

Scott Condie (2nd), Kirwan Robb (1st), Steve Sedgmen (3rd)

until midway up the next upwind leg where he could reach the shore.

Robb who had made a quick stop to remove weed on the downwind leg pounced on the opportunity to pass Condie and by the end of the race had recovered to 3rd with Condie two places behind (and a further two on the scoreboard).

Races 12 though 14 saw Robb put the nail in the coffin and an end to the Condie charge scoring 1,1,2 and with Condie scoring a 7th in race 15 the fat lady was singing.

The breeze shifted to a WNW direction it came in with a bit of punch and saw the fleet change down to B rigs (and some C's) and the final two races saw the strongest winds of the championship. Although Condie managed the conditions better than Robb finishing with a win in the final race, it was all a little too late and at the end of the day it was Kirwan Robb  who claimed back to back championship wins.10Rnatswinner

Racing throughout the championship was tight at the top with both Steve Sedgmen (NSW) and Andrew Reid (VIC) remaining in touch with the leaders until the final day with Sedgmen claiming 3rd overall ahead of Reid finishing 4th, Glenn Dawson (WA) 5th and Greg Torpy (QLD) 6th.

The Master's category was hotly contested with Owen Jarvis (NSW) winner while the Grand Master was awarded to David 'Yoda' Thomas.

10Rnatsmiddleton2At the ARYA AGM, ARYA President Andrew Reid was awarded the George Middleton Trophy in recognition of his commitment to radio sailing and the primary organisor of the 2020 Australian Championships for the International Ten Rater & International Marblehead classes.

Results Linked here





Login Form